A Relationship

Italia-90-image

I give the sport- futbol, soccer, or football- my full attention and in return I get a range of emotions. These emotions not always being of happiness, at times they fill me with disappointment or anger.

I was only 9-10 years old when I watched my first World Cup on tv. Italy 1990 replaced the time meant for Summer cartoons and activities. I got hooked. I loved the rhythm, intensity and the emotions the game created. I remember cutting newspapers and collecting the player cards. Who can forget Caniggia or Toto Schillaci! I remember feeling terribly sad when Argentina lost. Why though, I’m not Argentinian? This is the beauty of this sport. It’s a feeling that overcomes whatever nationality you are from.

26 years later and I’m still in love with this relationship.

Author: Futbol*Diva

Following the sport that moves countries.

Leave a Reply

